Designed by architectural firm Knighton & Howell for Fridgidaire. 1929
After the repeal of Prohibition, the building was purchased by the state to be used as offices for the Oregon Liquor Commission.1933
The building was remodeled to be the First National Bank branch.1941
R J Templeton purchased the building for for operation of his auto parts distribution business.1959
The building was purchased by NFN Investments, later named NBP Capital for use of their corporate offices.2013
click the pin for address and directions
Standing on the east end of the Burnside Bridge overlooking the Willamette River, RJ Templeton provides a fresh look at creative office. The building was originally constructed in 1930, and has since changed ownership in 2012 with renovations that followed. A mix of great views with a unique location, RJ Templeton is among the buildings pioneering a path of creative office in east Portland. With numerous amenity options in the immediate vicinity, the building offers an exclusive opportunity for its tenants.
Designed in 1929 by the locally well-known architectural firm Knighton & Howell, The RJ Templeton Building was originally known as the Frigidaire building. It was one of the first buildings in Portland that combined warehousing with retail space. At the time it was built it was reported to be the largest and most modern facility of its kind on the West Coast. The building was specifically designed for the Frigidaire Company that occupied the building from 1929-1934. After a series of other tenants, RJ Templeton purchased the building in 1959 for operation of his auto parts business. While the building still bears his name the historic name is the Frigidaire Building.